Blockquote Icon

The oldest bagpipeband of the European mainland.

< back          overview           next >

Dutch Pipes and Drums and Dancers

,Clan Macdonald of Clanranald Dutch Pipes and Drums’ was founded in 1953 as the youth-bagpipeband The little Scotsmen. gegründet.
This was done because of gratitude for the Scottish soldiers, who freed the town of Tilburg in 1944. Thus the Dutch Pipes and Drums are officially the oldest „bagpipeband“ of the European mainland. In the 2nd half of the last century the band grew more and more popular- in the Netherlands and beyond its borders.

During the last years the band played at music events – amongst others – in Germany, France, Belgium, Denmark, Luxembourg, Sweden, Norway, Bulgary, the Czech Republic, Switzerland, in Great Britain, Spain and Russia. They even had the chance to present their show at military tattoos and concerts with famous stars as Andre Rieu.

At the UPPERAUSTRIA-TATTOÖ the band will have their first appearance in Austria – a debut so to speak.

Highland Dancing is an important part of the band’s appearances. This is a Scottish, very technical way of dancing with elements from ballet-dancing. Crystel Benton is responsible for the choreography.


The tartan of the skirt „kilt“ and the coat „plaid“ belongs to the family ClanMacdonald of Clanranald. At their appearances in Linz the band will wear the so-called „full dress“: A uniform with a cap made of feathers from ostrichs and traditional accessories, such as the „hair sporran“ (a bag with horse hair) and a „dagger“ (big knife).

The Dutch Pipes and Drums & Highland Dancers are directed by Pipe Major Dennis van Meel.

Blockquote Icon

Die älteste ,Dudelsackband' des europäischen Festlandes.

< zurück          zur Übersicht           weiter >

Dutch Pipes and Drums and Dancers

,Clan Macdonald of Clanranald Dutch Pipes And Drums’ wurde 1953 als Jugenddudelsackband Die kleinen Schotten gegründet.
Dies geschah aus Dankbarkeit für die schottischen Soldaten, die die Stadt Tilburg 1944 befreiten. Die Dutch Pipes and Drums sind damit offiziell die älteste ,Dudelsackband’ des europäischen Festlandes.In der 2. Hälfte des letzten Jahrhunderts wurde die Band in den Niederlanden und auch über die Grenzen immer bekannter.

So spielte die Band in den letzten Jahren unter anderem in Deutschland, Frankreich, Belgien, Dänemark, Luxemburg, Schweden, Norwegen, Bulgarien, Tschechien, Schweiz, in Großbritannien, Spanien und Russland bei Musikveranstaltungen. Auch bei Militär-Tattoos und Konzerten mit Berühmtheiten, wie zum Beispiel André Rieu, durften die Dutch Pipes and Drums bereits ihre Show aufführen.

Beim UPPERAUSTRIA-TATTOÖ hat die Band zum ersten Mal einen Auftritt in Österreich – eine Premiere!

Ein wichtiger Bestandteil bei Auftritten ist Highland Dancing. Das ist eine schottische, sehr technische Tanzform mit Elementen aus Ballettänzen. Crystel Benton ist als Tanzleiterin für die Choreografie verantwortlich.


Der Tartan des Rocks („Kilt”) und des Mantels („Plaid”) gehört zur Familie Clan Macdonald of Clanranald. Die Band trägt bei ihren Auftritten in Linz die sogenannte ,Full Dress’: eine Uniform mit einer Mütze aus Straußenfedern und traditionellen Attributen, wie ,hair sporran’ (ein Beutel mit Pferdenhaaren) und ,Dagger’ (großes Messer).

Die Dutch Pipes and Drums & Highland Dancers stehen unter der Leitung von Pipe Major Dennis van Meel.